Vlad, Hamilton among All-Star vote leaders

Vlad, Hamilton among All-Star vote leaders

ARLINGTON -- Vladimir Guerrero is well on his way back to Anaheim and back to the All-Star Game.

It looks like Josh Hamilton will be going too.

Guerrero continues to maintain an overwhelming lead at designated hitter in the latest update of fan voting for the All-Star Game, with more than twice as many votes as his closest competition. Guerrero has 2,316,229 votes while Hideki Matsui has 1,009,648 votes. Online voting continues through July 1.

Guerrero is hitting .327 with 15 home runs and 57 RBIs in 65 games. He has a .366 on-base percentage and a .554 slugging percentage.

Hamilton, who has been scorching hot at the plate, is also soaring at the ballot box. He has passed injured teammate Nelson Cruz to move into third place among outfielders, behind Ichiro Suzuki and Carl Crawford. And Hamilton is actually closer to Crawford than he is Cruz.

Crawford has 1,445,615 votes while Hamilton has 1,431,013, and Cruz has 1,377,399 votes. Cruz has been on the disabled list but is expected to be activated on Tuesday.

Hamilton is hitting .337 with 48 runs scored, 16 home runs and 52 RBIs. He has a .381 on-base percentage and a .600 slugging percentage.

Hamilton was 5-for-6 in a 5-4 victory over the Astros on Sunday and has a 16-game hitting streak going. During that streak he is 31-for-64 (.484) with seven home runs and 23 RBIs.

Among other Rangers, Elvis Andrus is a distant second at shortstop, behind Derek Jeter, and Ian Kinsler is third at second base. Michael Young, who has been an American League All-Star for six straight seasons, is third among third basemen. That's nothing new. Young has always been selected to the team via the players voting.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times at MLB.com and all 30 club sites using the 2010 All-Star Game MLB.com Ballot sponsored by Sprint until July 1 at 8:59 p.m. PT. Sprint subscribers can now vote on the go with select Sprint devices. They can learn more about how to vote on their smart phones at MLB.com/Sprint.

Starting rosters will be announced during the 2010 All-Star Game Selection Show on TBS on July 4. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the 2010 All-Star Game Final Vote sponsored by Sprint.

And the voting doesn't end there. Fans will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet at the Midsummer Classic via the 2010 All-Star Game MVP Vote sponsored by Sprint.

The All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX and around the world by Major League Baseball International. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio play-by-play, while MLB.com will offer extensive online coverage.

T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.