Now Commenting On:

Ten finalists named for Hall of Fame's Frick Award

Ten finalists named for Hall of Fame's Frick Award

Ten finalists named for Hall of Fame's Frick Award
The National Baseball Hall of Fame revealed on Tuesday the 10 finalists for the 2013 Ford C. Frick Award, three of them selected from a group of 41 nominees via an online vote.

The finalists are Tom Cheek, Ken Coleman, Jacques Doucet, John Gordon, Bill King, Graham McNamee, Eric Nadel, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon and Dewayne Staats.

The winner of the Frick Award will be announced on Dec. 4 at the Baseball Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., and honored during Hall of Fame Weekend July 27-28 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

King, Cheek and Doucet emerged as the three candidates selected by 34,283 fans during online voting that ended Friday. The other seven were selected by a Hall of Fame research committee. Doucet, Nadel, Ortega, Shannon and Staats are still active in broadcasting.

The award, given annually since 1978 to a broadcaster with a long career of excellent service announcing Major League Baseball, was won this year by FOX broadcaster and former big league catcher Tim McCarver.

The list of 41 nominees consisted of Joe Angel, Richie Ashburn, Alan Ashby, Bert Blyleven, Lou Boudreau, Thom Brennaman, Rodger Brulotte, Joe Buck, Steve Busby, Skip Caray, Joe Castiglione, Cheek, Don Chevrier, Gary Cohen, Jerry Doggett, Doucet, Dick Enberg, Ed Farmer, Ray Fosse, Hank Greenwald, Tom Grieve, Tom Hamilton, Ken Harrelson, Mark Holtz, Pat Hughes, Jim Hunter, Todd Kalas, King, Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper, Nadel, Joe Nuxhall, Phil Rizzuto, Ron Santo, Shannon, Charlie Slowes, Staats, Steve Stone, Pete Van Wieren, Mike Wilner and Bert Wilson.

Final voting for the Frick Award will be done by a 21-member electorate, comprised of the 16 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists. The group includes Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, McCarver, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

Frick Award voters consider a number of criteria, including longevity, continuity with a club, honors, national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games, and popularity with fans.

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a ballclub, network or a combination of the two.

The winner will be honored at the Hall of Fame's awards presentation on July 27 at Doubleday Field in Cooperstown. The induction ceremony for any new electees to the Hall of Fame is scheduled to be held July 28 in a field adjacent to the Clark Sports Center.

Barry M. Bloom is a national reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog, Boomskie on Baseball. Follow @boomskie on Twitter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español