CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Rangers aided by two of three replays

Texas gets help from one of two reviews during same at-bat in eighth

Rangers aided by two of three replays play video for Rangers aided by two of three replays

ARLINGTON -- The Rangers challenged on-field rulings using instant replay for the third and fourth times this season, then benefited from a crew chief review in Monday's 4-0 loss to the Athletics.

All three plays that required another look were plays involving first baseman Prince Fielder and A's runners -- two on pickoff throws and another on a double play throw from Leonys Martin, who had made a spectacular catch in right-center field.

More

The first and third calls were overturned, while the second was confirmed. The first two challenges were on tags at first base on pickoff throws -- one from catcher Robinson Chirinos, the other from pitcher Nick Martinez -- to Fielder.

On the first play in question Tuesday, in the third inning, Chirinos blocked a Yu Darvish pitch in front of the plate with the bases loaded, and the ball bounced to Chirinos' right.

Brandon Moss, who was at first base, then broke for second. Chirinos picked up the ball and threw it to Fielder, who had his right foot just in front of the bag. Moss slid, but his right foot hit Fielder's foot instead of the base and Fielder appeared to apply the tag before Moss could touch the base.

First-base umpire Marcus Pattillo called Moss safe, and Rangers manager Ron Washington chose to challenge.

After two minutes and 16 seconds, crew chief Jeff Nelson signaled Moss out.

The second and third reviews came in the top of the eighth inning. First, Martinez threw to first to pick off Josh Reddick, who was ruled safe. The review confirmed the call that Fielder had missed the tag. Replays showed Fielder just missing Reddick's helmet as he swept his glove. After one minute and 17 seconds, the call was confirmed.

The third reviewed play, an umpire's challenge, happened during the same at-bat. Umpires looked at whether Fielder tagged the bag before Reddick got back to first when Daric Barton hit a blast to the right-center-field wall that Martin snagged with a running catch. That call was overturned after one minute and 35 seconds.

Dave Sessions is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less
{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }